What I Think

IE8 is being pushed through Windows Update

Posted on: May 4, 2009

ie8

Ok…today I’m posting after a really long time. My exams end on 24th of this month and then I’ll start regular posting. Thank you for your patience.

I had to use my PC yesterday to check on my projects when I saw the tiny windows update icon in the notification area –

tool

I was not surprised to see Internet Explorer 8. Now, I’ve not got any problem with Internet Explorer, I just ignore it. My problem is the way it is being pushed to users, it is silently downloaded without users knowledge. Many users are barely getting used to IE7 and here comes IE8. Users should be given the option to update like Firefox. people are usually not even aware of the version of Internet Explorer they are using. This might cause Microsoft some trouble from the EC.

Anyway… Internet Explorer is a good browser, at least better than IE7 or IE6. So now that you’ve downloaded it, use it and tell me if you like it or not.

If you didn’t like it Microsoft has made it fairly simple to remove Internet Explorer 8 .

 

5 Responses to "IE8 is being pushed through Windows Update"

Hoping to see the Internet Explorer 9 soon! And hoping IE will fully support the W3C standard.

To be clear, IE _did_ give you the option to update or not – it doesn’t upgrade IE7 without asking. If you have Windows Update set to the Recommended setting, it will prompt you to install. You can ignore the update in Windows Update without installing. :o)

I knew this would come up.. Just before installing, a window comes up and you have to accept terms & conditions to start install. “Just before installation” thats when you know the thing had been downloaded without your knowledge. Anyway it’s an update tagged important so it keeps nagging you.

Hi, nice post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for posting. I’ll probably be coming back to your posts. Keep up great writing

I have no intention of downloading IE 8. Is there a way to tell Windows Update to stop notifying me to install IE 8 every six seconds? I keep unchecking it from the list of updates but there’s the notification again that updates are ready for me. Enough already!

Leave a Reply

free cell phone contest

Google Talk

Google Profile

My Google Profile - vinitneo

Page Rank

What I Think Mobile

What I Think optimized for mobile phones--

What I Thing SMS Updates

Subscribe to What I Think Google SMS channel to get updates straight to your mobile - What I Think

Online

Pages

a

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Stats

  • 106,252 hits

Top Clicks

  • None
