What I Think

Email with Expiry Date

Posted on: February 9, 2009

One of What I Think reader Pavithra wanted to know how to send an email with an expiry date, so I did bit of a research and here it is –

There exists no simple way to send email with expiry date except in Microsoft Office Outlook where you can do this with the custom header “Expiry-Date”. Others are some scripts like Apache Ant and dozens of scripts which are beyond normal users.

But when i come to think about it, its an useful feature – “Going Away for Lunch with Mat today!” is not something I need to see or know about 7 days after the event. So there should be some some sorta thing which will causes the e-mail to delete itself from the server if not read within ‘x’ amount of time.

As only Microsoft Office Outlook allows you this feature now… I’ll tell you how to use it –

Introduction

Outlook allows you to set an expiry date for emails you send, allowing your recipients to see quickly when messages are out of date. An expired message will still arrive in the recipient’s inbox and can still be viewed, but will appear with a line through the sender name and subject line, as shown below.

Email-3

To set an expiry date for an email message:
1. Create a new message as normal
2. Select the Options… button on the toolbar

Email-5

Note: If you do not see an Options… button on the toolbar, select Tools | Options… from the menus
3. Tick the box next to Expires after: (in the Delivery options section)
4. Set the date and time at which the message expires.
Message options

5. Click Close

Technorati Tags: ,
6 Responses to "Email with Expiry Date"

Thts a nice thing! Will try it out 🙂

Off I go to stumble n Digg this post 😉

This is a really good feature. Webmail services like gmail, yahoo & hotmail should have this feature. I don’t use outlook and am waiting for this feature to get into gmail. Nice post, you’ve got a really good blog there. Keep up the good work.

thanks for keep me inform! i will try out.

Thanks for the note, I’ll try it

Good thing, I have no idea before read this. Thank you very much, I’ll try this out soon

Leave a Reply

free cell phone contest

Google Talk

Google Profile

My Google Profile - vinitneo

Page Rank

What I Think Mobile

What I Think optimized for mobile phones--

What I Thing SMS Updates

Subscribe to What I Think Google SMS channel to get updates straight to your mobile - What I Think

Online

Pages

a

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Stats

  • 106,142 hits

Top Clicks

  • None
