What I Think

Microsoft & Apple Ad War

Posted on: October 21, 2008

There was no “I’m a Mac” after Microsoft’s “I’m a PC” ad for a while and now it has returned. Apple yesterday came up with 2 new ads –

PC guy is seen allocating a huge pile of cash on advertising, with little left over for “fixing Vista.

I’m a Mac

The ad is mocking Microsoft’s $350 million ad campaign for Windows Vista, suggesting that some of that money would be better spent fixing Vista. I don’t know how they can mock Microsoft when they are spending more than $3.5 billion on SG&A (selling, general, and administrative expenses) for its fiscal year that ended September 30. How much of that was spent on advertising? I don’t know, but 10 percent doesn’t seem unreasonable. Apple’s advertising budget is also pretty massive. I mean, I see more Apple commercials on TV than ads for Barack Obama.

The second ad is making fun of Microsoft’s naming conventions which I didn’t find to be very funny.

Technorati Tags: ,,,,
1 Response to "Microsoft & Apple Ad War"

[…] wolfrog wrote a great post today onHere’s a quick excerpt […]

Leave a Reply

free cell phone contest

Google Talk

Google Profile

My Google Profile - vinitneo

Page Rank

What I Think Mobile

What I Think optimized for mobile phones--

What I Thing SMS Updates

Subscribe to What I Think Google SMS channel to get updates straight to your mobile - What I Think

Online

Pages

a

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Stats

  • 106,142 hits

Top Clicks

  • None
