What I Think

Omnibar in Firefox

Posted on: September 30, 2008

 

omnibar-firefox

This is the beauty of Firefox, it can have any feature that other browsers have. When Google Chrome was released the omnibar was the most talked feature of it.

Now thanks to the Add-on Omnibar you can have Google Chrome’s omnibar in Firefox. This add-on is even better than the omnibar, first of all it brings the search to your address bar and it support  searching multiple search engines for same query at the same time.  All you need to do is use this type of setup:

A general search query is:
@engine1,engine2 your search query

or,if you prefer to give engine name at the end:
your search query@engine1,engine2

You can download Omnibar add-on here. The add-on is in an experimental state and you’ll need to have an AMO login in order to download. Use this one if you don’t have AMO login –

Username: firefox@cybernetnews.com
Password: cybernetnews

[via Firefox Facts]

 

4 Responses to "Omnibar in Firefox"

Woooooow! Every now n then, Firefox just proves that it has got no competition atall. Thanx for the link n id n password.

I’m confused. I key word search from the location bar without the omnibar feature installed. I can’t switch search engines inline, but otherwise it works fine.

Oh I get it now…just downloaded the omnibar. It is better.

@chezkb the awesome bar search is linked the the google’s I’m feeling lucky feature whereas omnibar just does a plain google search. This add-on takes the search a bit further and adds multiple search. Though I personaly prefer the I’m feeling lucky of awesome bar, takes you to the relevent page quickly.

Leave a Reply

free cell phone contest

Google Talk

Google Profile

My Google Profile - vinitneo

Page Rank

What I Think Mobile

What I Think optimized for mobile phones--

What I Thing SMS Updates

Subscribe to What I Think Google SMS channel to get updates straight to your mobile - What I Think

Online

Pages

a

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Stats

  • 106,200 hits

Top Clicks

  • None
