What I Think

Gmail Drive

Posted on: August 6, 2008

I remembered this as I wrote the article Online Storage Service [Take 2].

You might not be using all of the 6+ (and growing) space of Gmail so why not use it to store other stuff ?

Gmail Drive is a simple windows shell extension that lets you use your Gmail inbox as online storage. You simply give it your Gmail username and password and you’ll find another hard drive listed under My Computer.

When you upload a file, it appears as a new e-mail in your inbox. To avoid the hassle of seeing a new e-mail every time you upload a file, you can create a filter in Gmail that archives all such (the subject line contains “GMAILFS”).

It may not be the most extensive tool ever made, but Gmail Drive is the best way to use all the free space that Google has so generously given us.

gmail drive

Technorati Tags: ,,
4 Responses to "Gmail Drive"

it’s cool but sometimes creating problem.

Does that work fine?? I mean won’t it be pretty slow?? Yeah but seems like a nice way to share data if you have computers at different locations.
Hey give a link to the article “online storage service take 2” that you have mentioned here… would be pretty useful 🙂

It depends on the internet connection speed. and I’ve updated the link in this post.

It’s great and not slow.

Leave a Reply

free cell phone contest

Google Talk

Google Profile

My Google Profile - vinitneo

Page Rank

What I Think Mobile

What I Think optimized for mobile phones--

What I Thing SMS Updates

Subscribe to What I Think Google SMS channel to get updates straight to your mobile - What I Think

Online

Pages

a

RSS Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Stats

  • 106,213 hits

Top Clicks

  • None
